top of page
nstcsg

11 Questions with the Assistant Deans | Dr Suzanne Choo

Updated: Aug 10, 2020

Dr Suzanne Choo, Assistant Dean/Degree, taught English and English Literature in a secondary school for about six years and this involved writing musicals, coaching students in Drama, and organising various events for her school. One such event was Animal Safari, where all students were allowed to bring their pets to school with various tournaments organized for animals!


She shares about her time as a student, her dog, and the games she loves.


How were you as a student?

I attended a secondary school where obedience and especially silence was really heavily emphasised. I found it quite oppressive and I think it brought out the rebellious streak in me. Everything changed when I went to JC. I had a Literature teacher who came to class and just asked us questions every lesson. I really enjoyed his lessons because I felt like, for the first time, my opinions were validated and there was someone willing to listen to what I had to say. I told myself, at the age of 17, that I wanted to be a teacher like him.


What is something about you that we don’t know?

I’m quite a gamer! I play PS4, and not many people know this, but I love horror games. I enjoy literary-type games or games with compelling storylines like Assassin’s Creed, where you can visit Leonardo da Vinci’s house or walk around Ancient Greece. I also love board games, strategy ones like Citadel and cooperative ones like Pandemic and Forbidden Island. I definitely want to pay Club Jeux a visit soon. And I’m up to the challenge if any student teacher wants to play a game of Monopoly or Risk online with me!


What is your favourite food from the NIE canteen?

Definitely the Chicken Rice stall, and I think it’s because the uncle is so nice. He always talks to me, and we can have conversations. He’s always smiling and is really generous with the portions.


What is your favourite spot in NIE to relax?

Firstly, if I were to relax, it wouldn’t be in NIE! I relax at home, late at night. I read, or watch Netflix, or play a game.


If you could change the colours of the NIE logo, would you?

I actually like the logo! I like the lion looking forward. The lion signifies bravery, which is what I think one needs to face the future. It’s a dynamic logo, and the waves of blue, red and golden yellow represents an institute that is dynamic and adaptable to change. I wouldn’t change it. I think it really captures the heart of NIE.


What is one fun fact about you?

I can play the guitar! So if anyone wants to break out into song, I can do that. I guess if the party was on an island, without TV or Netflix, my guitar playing would be useful. I can lead everyone in a song as we dance around the campfire.


What is one essential piece of clothing or accessory in your wardrobe?

I’m a T-shirt and shorts kind of person. I think if anyone comes to my house, they’ll feel really comfortable because they can just come in T-shirts and shorts and we’ll just chill together.


Do you have any pets?

I have a hamster called Sammie, and I have a one-year old Daschund called Snoopy. I’m a dog person and I grew up with dogs. I had a Shetland sheepdog that passed away last year. Now I have Snoopy who’s very sticky. He has damaged parts of our house and furniture but he gets away with it because he has these big eyes, looking at you like, “did I do this?” and he’s really sweet. So yes, he gets away with it all the time.


What is the most memorable thing a student has said to you?

One year, I received a Mother’s Day card from a student. I actually went on to find out that she had lost her mum a few years earlier. In the card, she said that I had believed in her, and that was what she needed at the time. That was really memorable for me.


What is your dream for NIE?

That NIE would establish herself internationally as a thinktank for innovation, and will be a trailblazer in innovative pedagogies. I also hope that NIE will be a place where student teachers can deepen their philosophy of education, so that these beliefs can ground them when they go on to the real-world of teaching and they can better respond to challenges in light of their beliefs.


What is one thing you want student teachers to know?

That OTE is really here to support them, and we really do take their feedback seriously. We want to hear from them and help them. And because NIE provides so many different opportunities, we really want them to seize the day!

26 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page