top of page
nstcsg

11 Questions with the Assistant Deans | Dr Dawn Ng

Updated: Aug 10, 2020

Dr Dawn Ng, Assistant Dean/PGDE, taught in a secondary school before joining NIE. Subsequently, she was seconded to the Mathematics and Mathematics Education (MME) Academic Group in NIE to become a teacher educator. Inspired by her colleagues in MME, she decided to embark on her PhD on mathematics education, which led her to where she is today.


She shares about her student life, her comfort food from the NIE canteen on rainy days, and what she does to unwind.


How were you as a student?

I was a very serious student who got anxious and stressed about my studies at times. Luckily, my parents were nurturing and patient with me. They did not set targets for me but put their trust in me for trying my best in what I do.


What is something about you that we don’t know?

I enjoy watching Hong Kong dramas in Cantonese to relax.


What is your favourite food from the NIE canteen?

My favourite food from the NIE canteen is Lor Mee from the Noodle stall. It’s my comfort food especially on rainy days.


What is your favourite spot in NIE to relax?

Actually, I prefer relaxing at home, looking out of the window and listening to the birds. There’s a very active bird population in my compound that sings very well. Sometimes, I go for walks in my neighbourhood. Occasionally I will go to the parks or have tea with friends.


If you could change the colours of the NIE logo, would you?

No, they are nice colours!


What is one fun fact about you?

I’m not sure if I’m a very fun person. But I am left-handed, so I guess I am “born” to do party tricks my whole life!


What is one essential piece of clothing or accessory in your wardrobe?

A cardigan or a scarf.


Do you have any pets?

No, but if possible, I wish to have a dog. Preferably a golden retriever!


What is the most memorable thing a student has said to you?

I enjoy chatting with students about their lives. I remember I had an MEd student who was at the crossroad of her life in view of career challenges, and decided to confide in me. That made me feel happy! She had been my PGDE student and subsequently my MEd student. It’s good to keep in contact with former NIE students.


What is your dream for NIE?

To be a strong, cohesive community providing expertise in teaching, research and service in education.


What is one thing you want student teachers to know?

Your learning starts in NIE and continues after you leave NIE! Also, mental well-being is key. Know yourself, your strengths and your weaknesses. Monitor yourself and plan your progress.


36 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page